The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

Nail Art- Blue Gradient, Two Ways!

2 Comments

bmBJdT_YRwbtpTTNVUxlinb5iTJ1RAW4oRJtiUYd1XQ

Hey there!

So today I have a fun nail art design that I did in two different styles. I did a classic “gradient” nail art design, using 3 shades of blue, and then a “reverse gradient” nail, in which I have one gradient going in one direction, and a stripe down the center in the reverse direction! I was originally inspired to try a version of the “reverse gradient” nail from Simplelittlepleasues, a youtube nail art channel. If you want to check some of her designs, just click here! She’s also incredibly talented at water marbles!

Basic gradient nail art in natural indoor light

Basic gradient nail art in natural indoor light

So the first “base” design is the gradient. To create this look, I used 3 colors of nail polish: The lightest blue is Wet n’ Wild Megalast Nail Color in “I Need a Refresh-mint“, the middle-colored blue is Wet n’ Wild Fastdry Nail Color in “Saved by the Blue“, and the darkest blue (a shimmery navy) is Color Club Nail Lacquer in “043“. I started with 1 coat of “I Need a Refresh-mint” on all of my nails, and let it dry completely for about 20 minutes. Then, I took a makeup sponge, and layer the 3 colors on it, try to overlap the colors so that when I dab it on my nails, the colors will blend. I’ll include a picture of the sponge below.

L4jFRov-FrkrEHpnsdlztAritFmFrMB-UoOKT9NhHCg

 

After preparing the sponge, I dabbed the polish onto my nails, with the lightest color near my cuticle and the darkest by my tips, in side to side motions in order to blend the colors together. Don’t worry if it looks messy the first time, because you’ll need 2-3 layers of the gradient to get it dark enough. If you want to keep your cuticles clean, you can tape them like you would in a water marble nail art. However, I opted to leave them naked, and remove the mess with a q-tip dipped in acetone later. Once you’re satisfied with your gradient layers, use a topcoat over it to smooth out the lines. You should be left with a smooth gradient of blue bliss! Pictures below have 1 coat of Sally Hansen Diamond Strength Nail Color in “Flawless” overtop them.

Natural, indoor lighting

Natural, indoor lighting

Natural, indoor lighting

Natural, indoor lighting

Now, on to the second design!

Design 2!

Design 2!

The “reverse gradient” uses the exact same technique as the regular gradient. In order for it to work, you have to let the regular gradient dry COMPLETELY. As in, 30-40 minutes completely. You will need small strips of scotch tape or masking tape or nail striping tape, depending on how thick you want your lines. I opted for one thick line down the middle of my nail, but you could do smaller lines, diagonal lines, whatever! It’s a very open-ended design. Make sure the tape is pressed tightly against your nail. Then, paint your sponge with the same 3 gradient colors , only this time, reverse the order, so that the lightest color is at your tips and the darkest is at your cuticles. Repeat the gradient application technique, and as soon as you’re done, remove the tape to create a crisp line, and apply top coat. And voila! Your “reverse gradient” design is complete! Below are pictures with one coat of Sally Hansen Diamond Strength Nail Color in “Flawless”

Natural indoor lighting

Natural indoor lighting

Natural, indoor lighting

Natural, indoor lighting

Natural, indoor lighting

Natural, indoor lighting

So what do you think of these two stylish nail designs? Have you tried a gradient nail art before?

~Beth~

 

 

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

2 thoughts on “Nail Art- Blue Gradient, Two Ways!

  1. Pingback: Review- Wet n’ Wild Fastdry: 2 Nail Colors | Peace, Love, and Polish <3

  2. Pingback: 31DC2013 Day 10- Gradient Nails! | The Polish Influenza

Leave a Reply

