The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

Nail Art- Sea Foam Green Glitter French Tips

Leave a comment

Hi there!

Today I have for you a nail art design inspired by the classic French Tip. Instead of doing a stark white on my tips, however, I opted for a subtle, glitter pastel seafoam green. I think it takes away from the “starkness” that comes with a classic French tip, and adds a bit of whimsy to it. So let’s get started!

Seafoam Green Glitter French Tips!

Seafoam Green Glitter French Tips!

To get started on the design, I used a base color to kind of “even” out the color of my nails, since they’re pretty stained on their own. The color I chose for my base was Sephora by OPI “Dont Feed the Hand Models”, which is a nice, neutral color. It’s still sheer enough to mimic the natural nail color at 2 coats (which is what I’m using) but I find it becomes opaque in about 3-4 coats. I have a mini bottle of this polish because it came in a Sephora by OPI set I was given for Christmas awhile back. Here’s a picture of “Don’t Feed the Hand Models” on its own, 2 coats, no topcoat.

Don't Feed the Hand Models- indoor artificial light

Don’t Feed the Hand Models- indoor artificial light

After letting this polish dry, I took my favorite white, “Snow me White” by Sinful Colors, and painted it free hand across my tips. It takes a very balanced hand to get a steady strip of color, so if you find yourself struggling, you can purchase French Manicure tape strips, which create an easy to follow guide to creating perfect tips, mess free! I however, have practiced it a lot, so I’m pretty comfortable knowing that my hand won’t shake. When the one layer of white dried, I free-handedly painted the green glitter over the white. The color I chose for the tips is Kleancolor “Sparkle Emerald”. While the color, to me, is not reminiscent of emerald, it’s still a lovely glitter sparkler. The color itself is VERY sheer. It does not ever build up enough to wear on its own without obvious VNL. It’s best as a layering polish. Over white, it creates a very subtle effect, which I quite like in this manicure. It’s not too punchy, just very refined and whimsical, with all of the tiny translucent hex glitters. Below are pictures of the completed nail art look, with no topcoat.

Indoor, artificial lighting

Indoor, artificial lighting

Indoor, artificial lighting

Indoor, artificial lighting

Indoor, artificial lighting

Indoor, artificial lighting

So what do you think? Are you a fan of French tips? Or are they a little too “fake looking” for you? Let me know!

Also, as a disclaimer, while the pictures are mostly true to color, the Kleancolor “Sparkle Emerald” is a bit more saturated and noticeable in real life.

~Beth~

 

 

 

 

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

Leave a Reply

