The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

Nail Art- Summer Polka Dots w/ My Sister!

Leave a comment

Hi there!

So to break up the monotony of all the MOTD posts, today I have nail art for you guys! My sister recently started her first day of high school (she’s a freshman this year!) and she asked me to do something on her nails to make them stand out on the first day. Being the nail polish addict I am, I was happy to oblige. She told me she wanted something dotted, and I had been wanting to do a dot nail art design for awhile. So we picked the colors and got to work. Here’s the design we created!

I wanted to go with a fun, upbeat color scheme, since technically, it is still summer. My sister liked the idea of yellow and pink together, and I liked it as well. For my pink, I used a Love and Beauty satin-finish pink (I ripped the name off by mistake, unfortunately). It even smells a bit fruity when it dries, though I’m not sure why. The yellow I chose, for the base color on the nails, was Love and Beauty Yellow. It’s a shimmery, sheer yellow with silver shimmer running through it. In terms of yellows, this one is a cooler, lemon tone, as opposed to some of the warmer yellows. Unfortunately, this yellow was in no way opaque enough to make the yellow polka dots, so I used Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear Nail Color in Mellow Yellow for the polka dots. I alternated between yellow nails/pink dots and pink nails/yellow dots. To make the dots, I just used a toothpick (I don’t currently own any nail art dotting tools). Pictures below are with no topcoat.

Natural indoor lighting

Natural indoor lighting

Artificial Indoor Lighting

Artificial Indoor Lighting

So what do you think of the polka dot design? Are you a fan of this kind of nail art? Let me know in the comments! Also, special thanks to my sister, Sarah, for her guest modeling!

~Beth~

 

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

Leave a Reply

