The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

MOTD- dELIA’s Chanel “Peridot” Dupe

2 Comments

Hi everyone!

Happy Labor Day! I hope you all enjoy the weekend off (hopefully you’re off like I am!) and thanks to all the hard workers out there- maybe you don’t hear it all that often, but your work is always appreciated! 🙂

Today I have for you a nail polish that satisfies a lemming I’ve had for the longest time. Chanel Peridot has been on my wish list since it was released back in Fall 2011. It’s a gorgeous duochrome, the most intense I’ve ever seen, that looks gold dead on, with green to the side, and blue even further out. In direct sunlight, it looks like an olive green. In other words, it’s a lacquer dream. Unfortunately, with a price tag of $27 a bottle, I could never justify buying it. I’ll include a bottle pic below.

Chanel Peridot

Chanel Peridot

Then, OPI came along with their Spiderman collection, and released Just Spotted the Lizard, which many bloggers attested to being an exact dupe of Chanel Peridot. Still, at $9 a bottle, I had a hard time buying it, especially on a budget (high school, no job currently, sigh…). I’m including a bottle pic of that, too.

OPI Just Spotted the Lizard

OPI Just Spotted the Lizard

Enter- dELIA’s. By chance, I was there shopping, and browsing their nail polish, when, lo and behold, there it was, practically calling my name. A Peridot dupe. Unfortunately, this polish doesn’t have a name (that I can find- and I swear, I’ve searched everywhere), but let me tell you, it’s got the exact same duochrome finish that both of the other polishes (and the hoardes of other expensive dupes) have. I found my (cheap) diamond in the rough! Only $4.50! Half the price of the OPI! It might not be Chanel, but it’s close, and I’ll take it. Formula wise, the dELIA’s polish applies very well. Brush strokes are a bit of an issue, but they aren’t ridiculous, and the polish isn’t thick at all. I’m so happy to have this in my collection! Pictures below are 3 coats of dELIA’s Chanel dupe, no topcoat.

Natural, indoor lighting

Natural, indoor lighting

Sunlight

Sunlight

There is, however, one minor problem with this polish. And I bet you can see it in the pics above. It bubbles like crazy. I’ve tried everything, I cannot for the life of me get them to go away. If you’re OCD about bubbling, do NOT get this polish. For me, however, I’ve wanted Chanel Peridot for so long that I’ll take the bubbling if it means I can have the amazing duochrome. But really, it’s up to you if you’re willing to deal with that problem.

So what do you think of Chanel Peridot, OPI Just Spotted the Lizard, and the dELIA’s dupe? Are you a fan of crazy duochrome like I am? Let me know in the comments! dELIA’s polishes are available at dELIA’s stores, or on their website, here.

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

2 thoughts on “MOTD- dELIA’s Chanel “Peridot” Dupe

  1. Love duochromes, too! Glad you found a purse-friendly dupe of Peridot and Lizard. I like it very much and the bubbles are not too bad. 99% of people will not even notice the bubbles in real life. They will just admire your nails and the lovely nail polish.

  2. love Chanel polish, its expensive, but some of their colors are not replicable

Leave a Reply

