The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

31DC2013, Day 1: Red Nails!

3 Comments

Hi there!

Second post of the day! Woot!

Entrada segunda del día. ¡Woot!

So, because I either have a death wish or i’m just insane, I’ve joined the 31 day nail challenge by Chalkboard Nails (check her out HERE). It’s going to take place in the middle of high school. And college applications. And jobs. But oh well, I’m too excited to quit now!

Porque tengo un deseo del muerto o solo soy loca, he decidido participar en el desafío de uñas por 31 días. Es de Chalkboard Nails. Lo va a suceder durante escuela secundaria. Y de las solicitudes de la universidad. Y trabajos. ¡Pero, ahora estoy tan emocionada para parar! 

So without further ado, I’ll present to you my design for day 1, which features red nails. I knew right away I had to use my favorite red polish of all times, Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Nail Color Red Carpet. Boy does the name fit, because this glamorous color is perfect to wear down, well, the red carpet! It’s an almost jelly-ish red with tiny, red hex glitters mixed within. It’s opaque in 2 coats- love! Of course, this is a nail challenge. I couldn’t just leave it at that. So I decided to use two coats of Ulta’s Matte Top Coat over Red Carpet to give it an extra boost. I think the matte over the glitter gives the polish an extra depth, so the shine isn’t so in-your-face, but rather, quite demure. Then, I still wasn’t satisfied, so I took tiny strips of scotch tape that I cut myself, and placed them in a criss-cross pattern over my dried red nails. Then, I painted Love and Beauty Black over the tape, and immediately pulled off the tape strips to reveal a black and red, shiny and matte criss cross design. And NOW I’m happy with it! Pictures are below!

Entonces, te voy a presentar mi diseño por día 1, que necesitó usar el color rojo. Sé que necesitaba usar mi esmalte rojo favorito, Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Nail Color Red Carpet. El nombre es perfecto, porque el esmalte es muy elegante y perfecto para usar por un evento formal. Es un esmalte jelly con brillo rojo de hexágono pequeño, y es opaco en dos capas- ¡me gusta mucho! Claro, es un desafío de uñas. No puedo completar el look allí. Entonces, decidí usar dos capas de Ulta Matte Top Coat para conseguir más intensidad al look. Entonces, quise más. Pues, usé cinta adhesiva en tiras pequeñas para crear líneas pequeñas en mis uñas. Pinté Love and Beauty Black encima del rojo. Eliminé la cinta adhesiva, y ¡voíla! He terminado el look! Fotos debajo.

Indoor, artificial lighting

Indoor, artificial lighting

Indoor, artificial lighting

Indoor, artificial lighting

I’m still learning to perfect my technique with the tape manicure, so the lines are still a little sloppy. Hopefully they’ll improve in the near future, since I love these designs!

Todavía estoy aprendiendo como usar la manicura con cinta adhesiva, entonces, las líneas son descuidadas. Espero que las mejoren en el futuro, por que ¡me gustan los diseños!

So what do you think of the tape manicure? Hot or not? And are you a fan of red polish? Let me know in the comments!

Le gusta la manicura de cinta adhesiva? Bien o no? Y le gusta esmalte rojo? Dime, ¡por favor!

The 31 Day Nail Challenge takes place the entire month of September, and is hosted by Chalkboard Nails. Check her out to see other artists’ designs!

Este desafío es durante el mes de septiembre, y se organizada por Chalkboard Nails. Visita la página de ella, porque ¡ella es una artista fabulosa de arte de uñas!

Also, as a general announcement, I’m trying something new for some posts. I’m noticing I have a lot of viewers checking out my page from central/south America. Since I’m somewhat fluent in Spanish (at least in reading and writing) I’d like to practice my Spanish and cater to my viewers from those countries by writing some posts in English and in Spanish. It takes a lot of time to do both, so it might not be all the time. Also, my Spanish is NOT perfect, so don’t be offended by any errors. I hope you guys like this!

También, tengo una noticia. Voy a probar algo nuevo. Sé que muchos de mis lectores son de Sudamérica. Quiero escribir algunas de mis entradas en español par eses lectores. Mi español NO ES PERFECTO. He tomado 5 años de español en escuela, y puedo leer/escribir. Si hay errores en mis entradas, dime por favor, porque quiero aprender como escribir/leer mejor que ahora. ¡Espero que mis lectores les guste! 

Get excited, tomorrow is orange day for day 2! If that’s your favorite color, then make sure to drop by tomorrow!

Mañana es el día de anaranjado. Si le gusta el color anaranjado, ¡lee mi blog mañana!

31DC2013

 

CLICK HERE TO SEE OTHER NAIL ARTISTS’ RED NAILS DESIGNS!!!

 


~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

3 thoughts on “31DC2013, Day 1: Red Nails!

  1. Love red nails and your design. You made a real effort and the result is fab! Too bad you have it to take it off so soon. 😉

Leave a Reply

