The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

31DC2013 Day 2: Orange Nails!

3 Comments

Hi there!

Time to start day two of the 31 Day Nail Challenge! I got to tell you guys, I’m not a huge orange fan. In my polish stash, orange is probably one of the most lacking colors I have. Nonetheless, I still wanted to create something fun and original for the challenge, so I gave it my best shot.

I knew I wanted to do a combo of blue and orange, because I like how those shades play off each other. The blue I chose to go with my orange today was Wet n’ Wild Megalast I Need a Refresh-mint. It’s light and not as in-your-face as some of my other blues, and played nicely together with the star of the show, my selected orange, Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Nail Color in Sun Kissed. Basically, Sun Kissed is just a bright orange creme that applies very opaquely.

I did two designs for this, you guys can pick which one you like better. The first one I started out with 2 coats of Sinful Colors Snow Me White as a base. Then, I made little flowers on the lower right corner of my nails by putting 5 drops of polish in a circle with a toothpick, then pulling the drops into the center of the circle with the toothpick to create petals. A drop of I Need a Refresh-mint in the center completed the look. I also added tiny orange dots to add more of the day’s color. Below is the look.

Indoor, natural light

Indoor, natural light

For the second look, I decided to only use I Need a Refresh-mint and Sun Kissed. I used I Need a Refresh-mint as a base for all the nails. Then, once that had dried, I decided to do a variety show of patterns. On my pointer finger, I made tiny polka dots with a toothpick, then on the middle finger, I drew zig zags (they’re somewhat messy, but I don’t have nail art brushes, so I had to make do with a toothpick). The ring finger has a checkerboard pattern (also done in toothpicks), and the pinky rounds off the design with a half moon french manicure. I really like how loud this design is- perfect for summer days (even if school HAS started, lol). Pictures below are with no topcoat.

Indoor, natural lighting

Indoor, natural lighting

Indoor, natural lighting

Indoor, natural lighting

So which orange design do you guys like best? The first or the second? Let me know in the comments below!

Stay tuned- tomorrow’s challenge is yellow nails! Can’t wait to see what my crazy mind comes up with for that!

31DC2013

 

CLICK HERE TO SEE OTHER NAIL ARTISTS’ ORANGE NAILS DESIGNS

 

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

3 thoughts on “31DC2013 Day 2: Orange Nails!

  1. I’m loving the flower designs!!!

    ❤ Naa

    adolescentchic.wordpress.com

  2. Love them both – but if I had to choose – the flowers win!

Leave a Reply

