The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

31DC2013 Day 5- Blue Nails!

1 Comment

Hi everyone!

Sorry my post is kinda late today, I had school, club meetings, and then work to go to, and on top of all that, I’m catching an end-of-summer cold 😦 I still had to make time for nail polish, though, because, well, I’m not going to let this challenge get the best of me; I’m already 16% of the way done!

Today is BLUE DAY WOOOOOO! Blue is probably my favorite color EVAH. Ignoring my obsession with all things glitter, blue nail polish is my favorite color to wear. There are SOOO many directions you could take blue nails. I decided to go with what I believe is a classic staple of American blue- the good ol’ blue jeans.

I started out with a gorgeous grey blue polish by Essence from their Colour & Go line, called Movie Star. It’s pretty opaque, but a little patchy, so two coats are key to smooth things out. I wanted to amp up my denim design, so I decided to add a gorgeous glitter to the top of Movie Star. Glitter of choice? Ulta Salon Formula nail lacquer in Indigo-go Girl. It’s a fabulous denim blue glitter- packed with tiny silver glitters, tiny denim blue glitters, and larger blue hex glitters. The base is slightly tinted blue by the glitter, but it’s (for the most part) clear. One coat of that added the sparkle that the look needed. I then used a light brown polish (Rue Beauté 004) to draw a line across the top of each nail  to make the belt. I put a gold rectangle in the center of each “belt” to represent the belt buckle (I used a Body Central brand gold metallic polish- it doesn’t have a name, unfortunately), and then used Love and Beauty Black to draw in the pockets and zipper with a toothpick. I love the results- it looks like my nails are wearing jeans! Pictures below are with no topcoat.

Indoor, artificial light

Indoor, artificial light

Indoor, artificial light

Indoor, artificial light

I’m really proud of this design- I love the way it turned out! I hope you guys did too!

I’m really having a blast with this challenge. It’s so much fun both to create my own designs, as well as see everyone else’s amazing nail art skills. Please keep sharing your designs, it means the world to me to see your creations! Also, please share my designs, the publicity is great for me, and I’m happy to check out your blog in return!

Tomorrow is purple day, so many possibilities!

31DC2013

 

CLICK HERE TO VIEW OTHER NAIL ARTISTS’ BLUE NAILS DESIGNS!!!

 

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

One thought on “31DC2013 Day 5- Blue Nails!

  1. You really outdid yourself with this one. AMAZING. I bet you wouldn’t be able to take it off if you hadn’t taken pics. 🙂

Leave a Reply

