The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

31DC2013 Day 6- Violet Nails!

1 Comment

Hi everyone!

Unfortunately, I’m really sick today ūüė¶ I have a bad cold and a sore throat and migraine, so that makes doing nail art really tough. I still have a purple post, but it’s not an art design today. Sorry guys, I promise I’ll make it up at some point :/

The purple polish I have today still has an art design built into it- it’s a magnetic polish! The polish’s name is Purple Jam, and it’s by Live, Love, Dream by Aeropostale stores. It’s a really red based purple metallic polish that fits its name perfectly- it looks like grape jam! I totally think of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, lol. It comes with a chevron patterned magnet. In order to work it, you hold it over the wet nail polish for about 10-15 seconds (without letting the magnet touch the nail polish, of course) and the remove it to reveal a black chevron! The magnetic particles in the nail polish all pull towards the magnet, creating the pattern. The polish itself is very opaque, it’s almost perfect in one coat! Brushstrokes are a bit of an issue, but the magnetic design hides that. The only real problem is that it has some sort of a “grainy” texture, like bubbles, only smaller. One coat of topcoat seems to fix the issue. Pictures below are two coats of Purple Jam, with Sally Hansen Diamond Strength Nail Color in¬†Flawless¬†as a topcoat.

Natural, indoor lighting

Natural, indoor lighting

Sunlight

Sunlight

I do like this polish, I’ve been very pleased by my Aeropostale nail polish purchases (the other recent one was¬†Key Lime Pie, used in my Green Day 31DC2013). Aeropostale’s Live, Love, Dream Polishes are sold at Aeropostale stores, and on their website, here.

I hope you like my purple nails, even though they aren’t nail art. Please share my pics if you like them, and send me your pictures of your purple nails! Click on the InLinkz below to see even more great colors!

Tomorrow is black and white day! So many possibilities…

31DC2013

 

CLICK HERE TO SEE MORE NAIL ARTISTS’ VIOLET NAILS DESIGNS!

 

 

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

One thought on “31DC2013 Day 6- Violet Nails!

Leave a Reply

