The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

31DC2013 Day 8- Metallic Nails!

4 Comments

Hi everyone!

So today is metallic nail day! Originally, I was gonna cheat today, because I recently purchased a new OPI nail polish, A Woman’s Prague-ative, and desperately wanted to share it with you! IT’S SO GORGEOUS OMG. Gorgeous enough that when this nail challenge is over, I will be swatching and reviewing it for you. It’s too beautiful to be lumped into this post! But enough about that.

After work today, I was browsing through my favorite Youtube channels, and stumbled upon a nail art design done by the lovely Meliney (link to her channel here). It featured 5 different ways to make a puzzle piece manicure. I watched her paint her nails, then looked at my beautiful orange-y bronze OPI nails. And then it hit me. I needed to make puzzle nails, stat. I love the pairing of orange and purple (especially since fall is quickly approaching), so I knew I needed to pick the perfect purple to pair with a Woman’s Prague-ative. I originally tried out this design with another metallic polish, Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear nail color in Purple Gala, but it ended up being just too busy. So I actually decided to use the deep, vampy, creme purple from one of my Revlon Moon Candy duos, 280 Orbit. It paired ideally with A Woman’s Prague-ative- the puzzle pieces are defined well and the colors mesh beautifully!

To make the puzzle pieces, I used the tape method. I cut 4 small pieces of tape, and placed them around my nail like so.

orangetape

Then, I painted Orbit over top of the tape, and immediately pulled the tape off to create crisp lines, producing a design like so. Warning: at this stage, your cuticles will be pretty messy (at least mine were)

boxes

From there, I put little circles in the two polish colors on the edges of the blocks to make the puzzle pieces. And VOILA! The final look! Pictures below are with OPI topcoat.

Natural, indoor lighting

Natural, indoor lighting

Shade

Shade

I hope you guys love this as much as I do! Let me know in the comments below!

Please feel free to share your 31DC2013 designs with me- I love seeing your nail art! And please, if you like this design, share it! It means the world to me!

Tomorrow is rainbow day! Who doesn’t love rainbows? I have a special design in mind for tomorrow, I hope you guys will like it!

31DC2013

 

CLICK HERE TO VIEW OTHER NAIL ARTISTS’ METALLIC NAIL ART DESIGNS!!!

 

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

4 thoughts on “31DC2013 Day 8- Metallic Nails!

  1. I’ve never seen puzzle pieces on nails before – fantastic idea!

  2. I can’t take credit for the idea (it was Meliney’s), only the execution and color choice!

  3. Así que es así como se hacen los rompecabezas! Gracias por compartir el tutorial, voy a ver si me animo algún día 🙂
    Tantas ideas tan poco tiempo!!!

    Me encanta tu tagline “The only cure is a manicure” 🙂

    Looking forward to your next mani, the pacing of this challenge is killing me, I can only get one or two a week tops

  4. Pingback: MOTD- OPI “A Woman’s Prague-ative” | The Polish Influenza

Leave a Reply

