The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

31DC2013 Day 12- Striped Nails!

Leave a comment

Hi everyone!

I know I’m cutting it close to the deadline today for the 31DC2013, but I had a ton of homework to do (and still have a ton more ūüė¶ ) so I didn’t have time to write this post. As a result of all the schoolwork, this post is going to be pretty brief today, but hopefully the design makes up for my brevity (it IS the soul of wit, thanks Mr. Shakespeare).

For stripey nails, pastel, Easter-esque colors were calling out to me. Don’t ask why, because I couldn’t tell you, but I decided I needed a break from all the bold colors I’ve been wearing as of late. A muted color palette seemed appropriate. I started off with a base of 2 coats of¬†Not so Blueberry¬†by Revlon (it even smells like blueberries when dried!). Not so Blueberry is a blue-based purple with a subtle reddish pink shimmer running through it. After letting it dry, I knew I wanted to use tape to create the perfect stripes. I placed thin pieces of scotch tape over my nails in a diagonal direction, then decided I wanted an almost gradient-like effect. So I sponged Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Nail Color in¬†Mint Sorbet¬†and Love and Beauty¬†Pink¬†overtop the purple and tape. I quickly pealed off the tape when I was satisfied with my duo-color gradient, and voila! A beautiful pastel nail design ideal for spring (despite it being fall!) Pictures below are with OPI topcoat.

Indoor, natural light

Indoor, natural light

Indoor, artificial lighting

Indoor, artificial lighting

I’m really proud of how these turned out! I think they’re probably my most “professional” look to date! Let me know in the comments if you agree!

Thanks for all your support, everyone, it means the world to me. I love seeing your nail art creations as well, so please make sure to share them with me here and on social media!

Tomorrow is animal print day! So many animals to choose from, what will I pick? Come back tomorrow to find out!

31DC2013

 

CLICK HERE TO VIEW OTHER NAIL ARTISTS’ STRIPED DESIGNS!!!

 

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

Leave a Reply

