The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

31DC2013 Day 13- Animal Print!

1 Comment

Hi there all!

I’ve got to admit- I wasn’t very inspired for today’s challenge… Animal print just isn’t really my thing. There are so few choices for it. There’s cheetah, zebra, giraffe, and cow, and they’ve all been time a million times over. That’s not to say that they aren’t beautiful designs, but they’ve all been done. It was a struggle to come up with a creative design, but I hope I’ve succeeded!

Today, I really wanted to incorporate texture into my nails. I recently purchased one of Zoya’s new Pixie Dust lacquers, and I really have wanted to try it out! The color I purchased is called Carter, and it’s a gorgeous purple glitter in a deep blurple base, with beautiful red and pink shimmer in it (but more on that in a later post- I’ll definitely be reviewing it on its own). I decided it would look good as the center of a cheetah print design. I love the color combo of purple and teal, so I chose a satin-finish teal color by Rue Beauté, color 136 (it smells like cotton candy! Yum!). Once it dried, I dabbed small patches of Carter on top, and let it dry. Then, I used Sinful Colors Snow Me White to outline the design. I used a toothpick to draw “C” shapes and lines around the purple spots, and added some individual white spots to the design to make it feel more authentic. While I’m not a fan of animal print, I do like how this turned out! Pictures below are without topcoat.

Artificial, indoor lighting

Artificial, indoor lighting

Artificial, indoor lighting

Artificial, indoor lighting

If you like this design, please like and share it! And please, share your designs with me! We’re all in this 31DC2013 together- let’s all support each other!

Tomorrow is flowers day! There’s so many things you can do! I can’t wait to be inspired!

31DC2013

 

CLICK HERE TO VIEW OTHER NAIL ARTISTS’ ANIMAL PRINT DESIGNS!!!

 

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

One thought on “31DC2013 Day 13- Animal Print!

  1. This is actually very cute! Well done!

Leave a Reply

