The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

31DC2013 Day 14- Flower Nails!

4 Comments

Hi everyone!

So today I wanted to do something a little….out of the box. Flower day just has this connotation to it- frilly and feminine and romantic. And there’s nothing wrong with that. But I, like always, wanted to be unique. So, my inner nerd came out.

Instead of doing a literal flower design, I turned to my favorite video game hero, Mario, for inspiration. The fire flower is such an iconic image in the Mario game series. I wanted to pay homage to it on my nails!

Fire Flower!!

Fire Flower!!

Since my nails are super small, I didn’t feel like I could draw a good-looking flower on any nail except for my thumb. So on my pointer finger, middle finger, ring finger, and pinky, I created a cheeky french tip design. I started with a base of 2 coats of Sinful Colors’ Snow Me White. Then, I painted Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Mellow Yellow across the tips. After that dried, I painted a slightly thinner strip of orange (Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Sun Kissed) across the tip, and let that dry, as well. I outlined the bottom of the french tip with Love and Beauty Black, and sealed the design with OPI topcoat.

For the thumb, I really can’t explain how I drew the flower, because I just freehanded it, using a toothpick to draw the lines. The only new color that’s on the thumb and not the rest of the nails is the green for the stem, which is a mixture of Sinful Colors’ Innocent and Rue Beauté 040. Pictures are below!

Indoor, artificial light

Indoor, artificial light

Indoor, artificial light

Indoor, artificial light

Indoor, artificial light

Indoor, artificial light

I hope you all like my creative twist on the flower nail art design! If you like it, please share it on social media, and share your designs with me!

Tomorrow is “delicate design” day. I’m seeing lace, maybe? Who knows. Come check out my design tomorrow!

31DC2013

 

CLICK HERE TO VIEW OTHER NAIL ARTISTS’ FLOWER NAIL ART DESIGNS!!!

 

 

 

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

4 thoughts on “31DC2013 Day 14- Flower Nails!

  1. i love these so much theyre awesome!

Leave a Reply

