The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

31DC2013 Day 15- Delicate Design Nails!

5 Comments

Hi everyone!

Almost halfway done the 31DC2013!! I can’t believe I’ve made it this far, guys! It’s been going so well! I hope you all have been enjoying it as much as I have! I love challenging myself and seeing what cool designs I’m capable of coming up with, as well as seeing all the AMAZING designs created by other nail artists! Here’s to half a month more!

Today really threw me for a loop. Delicate design? Lace? Filigree? I know that a Konad stamper would have easily done the trick, but unfortunately, I don’t have one 😦 (I know, I need to get on that ASAP). I tried painting some lacy designs on my nails, but it went SO POORLY OMG. There’s no way I’d ever publish such an unprofessional, disastrous look. So I was forced to go back to square one.

And that’s when I remembered: I have real lace in the basement. Could I somehow make that work on my nails? Only one way to find out! I started with a base of two coats of Sephora by OPI Access 24/7, which is a bright, bold pink (though definitely not in neon territory). Once that had dried, I cut small panels of my navy-colored lace that would fit each individual nail. I then painted a third coat of Access 24/7 on each nail. I quickly pressed the lace panels onto the wet polish, and let them dry thoroughly (the wet polish acts as glue- you could also use a clear coat or nail glue to attach the lace). Once all that had dried (about 20 minutes or so later), I applied OPI topcoat to seal the lace one last time, and give the lace a shine. Pictures are below!

Indoor, artificial lighting

Indoor, artificial lighting

Indoor, artificial lighting

Indoor, artificial lighting

I know the lace here looks black, but I promise it’s more navy in real life!

I love this nail look! I think it’s kinda sexy, actually. Like cute lingerie or fishnets. Depending on the background color/lace color you use, you could also get the look to appear more vintage if you so choose. Whatever floats your boat!

If you like this look or technique that I used in today’s design, please share it on social media! And feel free to share your take on the delicate design with me!

Tomorrow is tribal print day! What will I think up next?

31DC2013

 

CLICK HERE TO VIEW OTHER NAIL ARTISTS’ DELICATE NAIL DESIGNS!!!

 

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

5 thoughts on “31DC2013 Day 15- Delicate Design Nails!

  1. Don’t take it off! Too beautiful!

  2. This is actual my favorite look that I’ve seen you do and arguably my favorite polish look that I have seen, ever!!!!

    ❤ Naa

    http://adolescentchic.wordpress.com/

  3. You’re too sweet Naa, thank you so much ❤

Leave a Reply

