The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

31DC2013 Day 16- Tribal Print Nails!

10 Comments

Hi everyone!

Words cannot describe how absolutely excited I am to share this design with you today!! I’m SO PROUD of how my free-hand skills have developed during this challenge. Chalkboard Nails was soooooo right- this challenge is great for improving your mani skills! So without further ado, let’s just jump right into the design!

My concept of tribal print before today was more warm, Native American-esque colors, like bright oranges, navys, reds, and browns. While I think that’s a beautiful color palette, I wanted to do something out of the box. Then, Google search gave me this image.

KATEMOROSS_TRIBAL_MULTI_800

OMG IS THIS NOT GORGEOUS? This needed to be on my nails, ASAP. I ran up to my polish stash to pick out colors. I started with two coats of Sinful Colors’ Snow Me White.  Then, I free-handed the tribal print design with toothpicks. The colors I picked are as follows:

Green: Rue Beauté 031

Yellow: Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Mellow Yellow

Pink: Love and Beauty Pink

Dark Blue: e.l.f. Skinny Jeans

Sky Blue: Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Blue Me Away

Neon Coral: Pink Ice 086

Purple: Sinful Colors Dream On

Orange: Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Sun Kissed

Pictures below are without topcoat!

Indoor, natural light

Indoor, natural light

Indoor, artificial light

Indoor, artificial light

Indoor, artificial light

Indoor, artificial light

I didn’t think I was going to like today’s design, but I really, really love it! There might be some tears shed when I have to take it off! I hope you guys like the design as much as I do 🙂

Please make sure to show me all of your wonderful designs on social media! I love seeing your amazing creations! And if you like my design, make sure to share it, too!

Tomorrow is GLITTER DAY!! We all know I’m a glitter-holic, so hopefully I’ll come up with something sparkly and amazing tomorrow!

31DC2013

CLICK HERE TO VIEW OTHER NAIL ARTISTS’ TRIBAL PRINT DESIGNS!!!!

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

10 thoughts on “31DC2013 Day 16- Tribal Print Nails!

  1. Great colors! These are really fun!

  2. Wow! Whodathunkit! I never thought to use toothpicks. These came out great. Love your inspiration!

  3. So bold and colorful! I like how you used a white base so the colors really stand out.

  4. Hi!!! I have nominated your blog for the Liebster award, please visit my blog and follow the rules to claim it
    http://nailsjazzedup.blogspot.in/2013/09/my-first-ever-blog-award-liebster.html

    hugs and kisses 🙂

  5. Awesome! I’d like to try this design but this might require much time. I just hope I could do it right.

Leave a Reply

