The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

31DC2013 Day 17- GLITTER NAILS!!

1 Comment

Hi everyone!

So if you couldn’t guess based off the title of this post, I’m SOOO excited for glitter day. I really should have named this blog “The Glitter Monster” or something, because such a large portion of my nail polish stash is made up of various types of glitter polishes! I had so many choices today for this look, it was almost overwhelming, lol. But I love what I’ve come up with, so let’s get started!

I love glitters and cool colors, so I knew I wanted to start out with a nice blue or purple. In the end, blue won out, and I picked e.l.f. Lavender Mist, which is a lovely periwinkle blue (reviewed here). I used two coats for full opacity. Once my base color dried, it was on to the glitter! I wanted to pack a huge sparkly punch, so I picked not one, but TWO glitters. The glitter I chose for my pointer finger, middle finger, and pinky was Ulta Salon Formula Nail Color in Glass Slipper. Guys, this is a glass fleck topcoat, and boy is it a beauty! The gorgeous glassy finish that we’ve seen by Essie, OPI, Zoya, and other brands is now available as a topcoat for all of your polishes! I die, it’s fantastic! Application was a breeze, it applies like a dream. Not to thick or thin, and dries quickly, with great glitter pay off in one coat! Of course, knowing me, I don’t do demure glitter. I needed a punchy pop to finish off this design. So I grabbed an unnamed Pink Ice brand glitter to do the job. This glitter is amazing. It’s a clear base full of small holographic silver mini-hex glitters, bar glitters, diamond glitters, heart glitters, and moon glitters. It’s celestial! Application wise, it’s a bit on the thick side, and you definitely have to place the moons and hearts, which can get gloopy. Usually I wouldn’t endorse a polish with that many application issues, but this one is so unique, I have to give it a thumbs up! Just use at your own risk. Pictures below are without topcoat.

Natural, indoor lighting

Natural, indoor lighting

Sunlight

Sunlight

I know this look is simple, but I really wanted the glitter to speak for itself. And I think it achieved its purpose! What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

If you like this look, please share it on social media! And make sure to share your glitter day designs with me!

Tomorrow is half-moon day! I can’t wait to try that out!

31DC2013

 

CLICK HERE TO VIEW OTHER NAIL ARTISTS’ GLITTER DESIGNS!!!

 

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

One thought on “31DC2013 Day 17- GLITTER NAILS!!

  1. Pingback: 31DC2013 Day 24- Inspired by a Book (The Rainbow Fish) | The Polish Influenza

Leave a Reply

