The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

31DC2013 Day 18- Half Moon Nails!

2 Comments

Hi everyone!

I went a bit unorthodox with my design today… it’s reminiscent of today’s theme, but not quite…. but hey, I like being creative. I wanted to do something different. And thus, I arrived at today’s design. I hope you’ll like it regardless!

A traditional half moon manicure looks a little something like this (picture taken from Cutepolish– if you haven’t visited her youtube channel before, DO IT NOW! She’s amazing at nail art!):

Taken from cutepolish

Taken from cutepolish

While I love the way this design looks, I really wasn’t feeling it for my nails today (don’t ask why, I get “nail moods” lol). I wanted to do something different. I wanted to incorporate texture polish into the design, and use a different shape than the original curve. I started out with a base coat of 4 coats of Love and Beauty Pink. Love and Beauty actually has several nail polishes named pink…. this pink is the one I posted as a MOTD here. It’s super super sheer, so that’s why it took 4 coats, but the amazing blue shimmer in it was absolutely necessary to play off my contrasting color. I then cut pieces of scotch tape into triangle shapes, and placed them at the bottom of my nail. I then painted over my nail and the tape using OPI Can’t Let Go, one of the Mariah Carey Liquid Sand colors from early 2013. This color is TO DIE FOR. Seriously guys. I swoon. It’s a rich medium blue jam packed with silver holo hex glitters in all sizes (though mostly small). So perfect. Go find this polish. Now. I implore you. Even if you don’t like textured polishes, you’ll love this (it smoothes out wonderfully with topcoat). I immediately pulled off the tape, and voila! Texture, triangular half moon nails…. Well, ok, not half moon nails anymore, half moon INSPIRED nails! Pictures below are without topcoat.

Indoor, artificial light

Indoor, artificial light

Indoor, artificial light Slightly blurry to see the glitter sparkle

Indoor, artificial light
Slightly blurry to see the glitter sparkle

I hope you guys like this design- let me know how you feel about it in the comments!

Once again, I invite you to share this blog and my designs on social media to spread the word, and I’d love to do the same for you! Visit the “contact me” page to find out how to get in touch with me!

Tomorrow is galaxies day! I’m a little stumped on that one, I’m going to have to find some serious inspiration before tomorrow!

31DC2013

 

CLICK HERE TO VIEW OTHER NAIL ARTISTS’ HALF MOON NAIL DESIGNS!!!!

 

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

2 thoughts on “31DC2013 Day 18- Half Moon Nails!

Leave a Reply

