The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

31DC2013 Day 19- Galaxy Nails!

4 Comments

Hi earthlings!

Today I have for you a super fun, outer-space inspired manicure! I’m gonna have to admit to you guys, this was the challenge I’ve been the most nervous about. Looking at other galaxy nails scares me a bit- they all look sooooo complicated! Thankfully, with the help of some youtube tutorials (thanks again to cutepolish!) and some sponging practice, I think I’ve gotten the hang of it! I hope you’ll like it!

I started out with two coats of Love and Beauty Black polish. Once that dried, I tore off a piece of a makeup sponge to make sure the edges of the sponge were kind of jagged (it helps keep the design look blended and not so stark). I dipped the sponge in Sinful Colors Snow Me White (making sure there was barely any polish on the sponge) and dabbed the white in stripes across my nail to look like the bases of little nebulas. After letting the white dry, I took the same sponge, dipping it this time into e.l.f. Sunflower, a slightly shimmery yellow. I sponged this all over the white area, trying to concentrate the color near one specific area of the white (it’s up to you to pick where you want that area to be). After letting that dry, I took a pink, Wet n’ Wild Shine in Lavender Creme, to repeat the same sponging technique. Now let me pause for a moment. Lavender Creme. REALLY Wet n’ Wild? This color is a hot pink, there’s nothing lavender about it… Usually Wet n’ Wild is pretty spot on with their super cute and creative names, but this just confuses me…. But enough of that tangent. Back to the design! Once the pink dries, I took a navy polish (Rue Beauté 043) and dabbed it on the outer edges of the nebulas to blend them in. I wanted the design to look super blended, so I was generous with the navy. I then took a toothpick and Snow Me White and dabbed tiny stars in random areas across the nail, and put bigger dots to represent larger stars in the middle of the nebulas. To finish off, I took Ulta Salon Formula Nail Color in Glitter Topcoat to create even tinier stars on the nails. And ta da! Done! Aren’t they out of this world? (totally pun intended). Pictures below are without topcoat!

Artificial, indoor light

Artificial, indoor light

Artificial, indoor lighting

Artificial, indoor lighting

Artificial, indoor lighting

Artificial, indoor lighting

Some of the white dots smeared a bit when I applied the glitter topcoat, but I like how that looks. It almost reminds me of shooting stars! In this case, the smudging is a good thing!

I hope you all like this design! I’m really proud of how it turned out! And I promise, it’s easy. It’s so impressive looking, but it takes, like, 15 minutes to do. The longest waiting you’ll do is for your black polish to dry! If you like this look, please share it on social media, and make sure to share your galaxy designs with me, as well!

Tomorrow is water marbling day! We all know I’m a huge fan of this technique, so I hope I can come up with something amazing for you!

31DC2013

 

CLICK HERE TO VIEW OTHER NAIL ARTISTS’ GALAXY NAIL DESIGNS!!!

 

 

 

 

 

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

4 thoughts on “31DC2013 Day 19- Galaxy Nails!

  1. Wait.. yours only took 15 minutes? Looks good!

  2. Beth, I am in love with your galaxy nails! I watched the same tutorial (and a few others) by cutepolish a few days ago. That woman knows her stuff! I really love how your galaxy nails turned out. Too bad that galaxy nail art isn’t the last challenge.

Leave a Reply

