The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

Review- Sally Hansen Sugar Coat Polishes

8 Comments

Hi guys and gals!

While out shopping at Target today (I really shouldn’t go there, I have 0 willpower to not buy cosmetic items) I ended up picking up a ton of new nail polish. One of my most intriguing purchases were two polishes from Sally Hansen’s Sugar Coat line- their version of OPI Liquid Sand, if you will. Texture is huge right now, what with Liquid Sand, Pixie Dust by Zoya, Texture by China Glaze, and so many more brands jumping on the bandwagon. Sally Hansen has actually had these polishes out for awhile now, but I’ve just gotten around to reviewing them.

These polishes genuinely feel like you have grains of sugar on your fingers. While Pixie Dust and Liquid Sand polishes tend to have a smoother finish, the Sugar Coat polishes are definitely of a rougher texture. You can even see the granules on the brush before you apply the polish. It’s either going to be your cup of tea or it isn’t. These polishes also don’t have any glitter or shimmer to them, so they dry very mattified. Again, not everyone’s cup of tea. They’re pretty liquid, so they’re easy to apply in my opinion. Swatches and individual reviews are below!

duobottle

 

Candy Corn is a bright coral. It’s very reminiscent of Essie Tart Deco only with texture. It was very easy to apply and was perfect opaque in 2 coats.

Indoor, natural light

Indoor, natural light

Shade

Shade

Spare-A-Mint? is a deep, turquoise-y blue color. It’s a little darker than robin’s egg blue, but definitely in that color family. I had a bit of an issue with the texture flaking off, literally like blue sugar falling off my nails. It isn’t too bad, but definitely something to consider. It was almost opaque in 1 coat, but I used 2 for pictures below.

Indoor, natural light

Indoor, natural light

Shade

Shade

Overall, I really like these polishes. I’ve heard them be described before as looking like a popcorn ceiling, but I think that’s just up to personal interpretation. I myself like them a lot, and definitely would like to get more in the near future! I would like to see some shimmer to these polishes, too. Not all of them, but add some variety to the finishes. Oh well, I know Zoya and OPI will always satisfy my glitter texture cravings!

Sally Hansen Sugar Coat polishes retail for $5-$7 (though I got mine on clearance for $1.64 at Target!!) and can be found at drugstores, beauty supply stores, and on their website, here.

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

8 thoughts on “Review- Sally Hansen Sugar Coat Polishes

  1. The finish reminds me of Of Coarse! by China Glaze, a blue from their textured line. I love that one, maybe I should look into these too. And I’ll join you, I have zero will power also when it comes to buying polish (or not buying). I always have to walk out with at least 1 bottle of awesomeness 😄

    • Glad to know I’m not the only one who can’t leave Target without nail polish! And I’ll have to look up that China Glaze polish! There are a lot of their polishes I’d love to buy but I don’t have the money for right now :/

  2. I cant quite get used to this kind of finish, I love Zoya Pixie dust…I guess having some sparkle is the deal breaker for me

  3. Actually there are 18 in the line so far and at least 6 of them have loads of sparkle. Just not the ones you picked up.

  4. Pingback: MOTD- Rue 21 “Glow in the Dark” | The Polish Influenza

  5. Pingback: Sally Hansen Fuzzy Coat Review and Swatches! | The Polish Influenza

  6. Pingback: Sally Hansen Fuzzy Coat Review and Swatches! |

Leave a Reply

