The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

On Wednesdays We Wear Pink- NYC “Pink Champagne”

Leave a comment

Hi ladies!

It’s that day of the week again- Wednesday! Ugh, who am I kidding, Wednesdays are awful. But hey, one day closer to Friday, right? And we get to celebrate Mean Girls with pink polish!

Today’s color du jour is New York Color Long Wearing Nail Enamel in Pink Champagne. In the bottom it looks like a cotton candy pale pink with gold shimmer running throughout it. On the nail….eh, not so much. It almost becomes a shiny nude on the nail, which is not my cup of tea. I expected a color like this to be sheer, but man, this was SHEER. I’m wearing 4 coats in the pictures and you can still see my VNL. It also dries super slowly, it’s still kinda gooey right now, and I’ve had it on for 30 minutes. Ugh, I’m so disappointed, I still have yet to find a good pale pink. The saving grace was the formula, at least it applied well and self-leveled fairly decently (at least for a sheer). Pictures below are without topcoat.

Shade

Shade

Natural, indoor light

Natural, indoor light

Maybe this color would look better on someone else, but with my ridiculously pale skin, sheers just look completely wrong on me. I’ll have to give it a try as a French manicure base at some point, maybe that will help it.

In order to try and redeem my manicure, I added some glitter to at least add a little pizzazz so I can wear it to school tomorrow. My glitter of choice was Ulta Salon Formula Nail Lacquer in Piñata-Yada-Yada. Let’s all take a moment to stop and appreciate how absolutely amazing that name is. Are we good? Ok. PYY is a gorgeous rainbow confetti of hex glitters in pretty much all the colors of the rainbow! One of my favorites! Pictures below are one coat of Piñata-Yada-Yada over Pink Champagne, no topcoat.

Shade

Shade

What do you think of this super sheer pink-nude color? Love or hate? Let me know in the comments!

NYC polishes are available from $0.84 to $3, depending on the line, and are found in drugstores and on their website, here.

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

Leave a Reply

