The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

MOTD- Essie “For the Twill of it”

2 Comments

Hi ladies!

HAPPY FRIDAY EVERYONE!!! We did it, we all survived! To celebrate, I have a fantastic polish to share with you today! It’s Essie’s For the Twill of it from the Fall 2013 collection. I’ve wanted this polish for FOREVER and I finally buckled down and just decided to get it. I kept telling myself I had sufficient dupes of it (I’ll make sure to have a comparison post later!), but the more I looked at my dupe polishes and FTTOI, the more I realized that I needed this Essie gem in my collection. And now that I have it, I have no regrets!

For the Twill of it is a chameleon of a color. It’s purple in the bottle, but deep in a gray way, like the sea right after a storm. It flashes between a teal-green, a pink, and a blue depending on the way the light hits it. I don’t think it’s possible for this polish to ever look quite the same twice because of the extreme duochrome. It’s actually quite opaque, despite the general tendency for polishes like this to be sheer. It’s also pretty thick for a polish like this, though still workable. The most common comparison for FTTOI is OPI’s Peace Love and OPI, from the fall 2013 San Francisco collection. I unfortunately do not own this polish, but from what I’ve seen, they’re essentially dead-on dupes. I really love this polish though. I used 2 coats for the pictures below!

Shade

Shade

Shade

Shade

Natural, indoor light

Natural, indoor light

Natural, indoor light

Natural, indoor light

Sorry that this post is so picture heavy, but it was necessary to show off the multi-faceted color of the polish!

So what do you think of this stormy purple gray polish? Are you a fan of the color flashes? Let me know in the comments below!

Essie polishes generally retail for between $7-$9 a bottle, and can be found at most drugstores, beauty supply stores, and on their website, here.

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

2 thoughts on “MOTD- Essie “For the Twill of it”

Leave a Reply

