The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

On Wednesdays We Wear Pink- Pink Ice “069”

Leave a comment

Hello lovelies!

So, I realize that it’s almost not Wednesday at this point, as I sit here writing this post after 10 PM… But it’s been such a crazy day, I can honestly say that I forgot that it was Wednesday until now. Of course, I couldn’t miss our weekly Mean Girls Tribute, so I grabbed a pink polish, got painting, and decided to go with the better-late-than-never-speed-blog. I apologize in advance if the pictures aren’t up to snuff- they were done in a hurry to fit my schedule.

Pink Ice 069 is my pink polish selection this Wednesday. It’s a reddish magenta jelly base jam-packed with tiny magenta hex glitters. When I first bought it, I thought it was going to be a layering polish, because in the bottle, it doesn’t appear to have a tinted base. Upon swatching it, I realize it was actually completely opaque! A great surprise, no? Again, my only complaint- PINK ICE BRAND BRUSHES ARE HORRIBLE. Seriously. Look at this. This is a tragedy- stiff, bent out of shape, and horrible for painting evenly. If it weren’t for this brush problem, I’d be completely on board the Pink Ice bandwagon.

Look at how stiff and misshapen it is...

Look at how stiff and misshapen it is…

Minus the awful brush, the polish itself is nice. It’s a little patchy, and definitely takes 3 coats to even out, but I think the shine payoff is worth it in the end. The glitter is also so dense that the end texture of the polish is a bit rough (not to the Liquid Sand/PixieDust level rough, but still somewhat textured), but it could be easily smoothed out by a topcoat. In terms of color, I have to draw a parallel between this color and Zoya’s Sarah. I’ll do a comparison of the two eventually to see how close they really are, but from wearing them both separately, they look fairly similar. Pictures below are 3 coats of 069, no topcoat.

Artificial, indoor light

Artificial, indoor light

Natural, indoor light

Natural, indoor light

You can see the “textured-ness” of the polish more in the second picture. It looks rougher than it is, I promise. What do you think of this raspberry hued lacquer? Are you a fan of Pink Ice, and have you had similar brush problems? Let me know in the comments!

Pink Ice polishes are a sub-brand of Rue 21, and retail for $3.99 a bottle (though they are often on sale for 2 for $5). They are found at Rue 21 store locations, as well as on their website, here.

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

Leave a Reply

