The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

Diabetes Awareness Month Nail Art!

2 Comments

Hi everyone!

Though the arrival of November to most people means Thanksgiving and the holiday season, for many, it also signifies the start of National Diabetes awareness month. 8.3% of the population of the USA has diabetes: that’s 25.8 million people. And quite honestly, that’s 25.8 people too many. Though I myself am lucky enough to not have the disease, one of my best friends in the world, Tory, has type one diabetes, and has struggled with it since her diagnosis at age 7. Though she has every reason in the world to be bitter and depressed about her disease, she’s one of the most optimistic, positive, uplifting people I know. And today’s nail art is dedicated to her ❤

JDRF’s (Junior Diabetes Relief Fund) color to represent diabetes is blue, so I knew I had to incorporate it into the design. I decided to make a blue and white water marble on my pinky, middle, and pointer fingers using Ulta’s Snow White and Wet n’ Wild Fastdry Saved by the Blue. To create the water marble design, I alternated between the white and the blue, then drew random lines with a toothpick in the bullseye to create a random marbled look. On the pinky finger, I created a red ribbon on a black background, to represent the colors of National Diabetes Awareness Month. I used Love and Beauty Black for the background and Markwin Red for the ribbon. And finally, on the thumb, I painted a red background with Markwin Red, a black heart in Love and Beauty Black, and in Rue Beauté 009, I wrote Tory’s name over the heart, to represent her fight against diabetes. Pictures below are without topcoat!

Artificial, indoor light

Artificial, indoor light

Artificial, indoor light

Artificial, indoor light

If anyone who reads this blog is diabetic, has a family member or friend who is diabetic, or just supports the cause, please let me know in the comments below. Diabetes needs to be stopped, and I know a cure is going to be found. Also, make sure to leave some loving for Tory below, I know she’ll appreciate it 🙂 Make sure to wear blue for diabetes this month! I know I will be.

~Beth~

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

2 thoughts on “Diabetes Awareness Month Nail Art!

  1. Love this mani – because of the cause!
    And yay for the Tory thumb! This is such a difficult disease to live with!

Leave a Reply

