The Polish Influenza

The only cure is a manicure

31DC2013 Day 21- Inspired by a Color (Emerald)

Leave a comment

Hi everyone!

So today, I have something a bit different for you. My inspiration today is from the color emerald (since today’s 31DC2013 challenge is inspired by a color), but there’s a bit of a twist. I picked emerald because it also happens to be the color of my makeup look of the day! Emerald is SUPER on trend this fall. I bet we’ll see a lot of emerald on the red carpet at the Emmy’s tomorrow night! So, I guess today, The Polish Influenza is going to become The Makeup Influenza!

The design I’ve done on my eyes today is kind of a sophisticated grunge look. It features heavy black eyeliner, softened by a bright emerald highlight in the inner corner of the eye. Here is the look!

Eyes1

Yes, those are my eyes šŸ™‚

To achieve the look, I started by covering my lids with Urban Decay Primer Potion. In my opinion, it’s the absolute best eyeshadow primer out there. My eyeshadow lasts all day long with barely any creasing when I wear it! I then took an Essence Long Lasting Eye Pencil in 12Ā I Have a GreenĀ (a gorgeous, sparkly green emerald) and colored in my inner corner, making sure to get in my waterline and tight-line. I then took an e.l.f. Shimmer Eyeliner Pencil inĀ BlackĀ and lined the rest of my eyes, smoking it out with my finger to make it look less harsh. PRO TIP: To get a creamy consistency of any eyeliner pencil, hold it over a source of heat (like a flat iron for hair) in order to warm it up first. Just be careful not to burn yourself!

I then took I Have a Green one more time and blended it up from my inner corner onto the inner lid. Over top of that, I took a bright green shimmer color from the BH CosmeticsĀ 120 Palette 1st EditionĀ and used my finger to dab it over I Have a Green, and blended it out with an e.l.f. studio Blending Brush. The green shadow helps to intensify the color of the green eyeliner. On the lower part of my lids, I took the colorĀ GunmetalĀ from the original Urban Decay Naked Palette, and blended it onto my lid with my finger and a blending brush. I finished off the look by applying two coats of Rimmel Scandaleyes Show Off Mascara inĀ 001 BlackĀ to both my upper and lower lashes. And voila! Gorgeous eyes ready for a night on the town!Ā 

eyes

This makeup look served as my emerald-themed inspiration for the 31DC2013 today! For my nails, I started out with a base of Sephora by OPIĀ Bring on the Snowflakes, a bright, metallic silver foil shimmer. I only needed one coat despite it being somewhat patchy. I then took Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Nail Color inĀ Emerald CityĀ (a shimmery dark emerald) and China GlazeĀ Smoke and MirrorsĀ (from the Hunger Games collection- a deep black with green and blue shimmer running through it) and put little dots of color in random places over the nail. I then took a piece of cellophane and crumpled it up, and used it to spread the polish dots over my nails in a marbled design. The saran wrap nail design is super popular these days, and I love how my take on it turned out! It almost looks like the surface of a precious stone! Pictures below are with OPI Topcoat.

Indoor, artificial light

Indoor, artificial light

Indoor, natural lighting

Indoor, natural lighting

I hope you guys like my attempt at a makeup look today. It probably won’t be a regular thing (unless you want it to be!) but I definitely wanted to try my hand at the beauty guru thing! Hopefully it was a success!

If you like either of the looks I showed you today, please, share them on social media! I always appreciate your amazing support šŸ™‚

Tomorrow’s 31DC2013 challenge is Inspired by a Song. Oh my… please. Leave me some song suggestions. I’m so stumped on this one!

31DC2013

CLICK HERE TO VIEW OTHER NAIL ARTISTS’ COLOR-INSPIRED NAILS!!!

Author: The Polish Influenza

I'm a teenage nail blogger from Delaware who, among other things, loves science, music, fashion, and um, of course, nail polish! I use my blog as a means of de-stressing, but I also love that I get to share my adventures in lacquer with all of my amazing followers! Please follow me :-)

Leave a comment